It Feels Like Home

A Boston girl goes Hollywood then chucks it away for a life in OZ… these are my adventures and general musings.

Devastated August 30, 2010

Filed under: Life — Holly @ 10:49 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Both of our external hard drives have had mechanical failures. This means every single photo, video, document and music file from the last six years is gone, unless it can be recovered. We’re talking about our engagement photos, wedding photos, our Australia pictures, travel photos, T’s birth pictures and videos, her growing up photos and videos, our recent trip to Australia and Hawaii… EVERYTHING. I just about want to cry.

Here we are trying to do the right thing and back up everything on a hard drive and then back up that hard drive and they both FAIL. What crappy luck we have!

So, now I have to find a data recovery company that we can send off our hard drive to, in an attempt to recover anything that we can. This is going to cost a small fortune- probably a few grand, but how could we not try to recover the pictures and videos of some of the most important and special times in our lives? We have to try despite the steep price tag. I’m just very bitter about the whole situation.

If all is lost, I do have a few photos on my laptop that will provide a little comfort but still, this is just awful. Now I wish I had been a better blogger and blogged about EVERY.SINGLE.THING.

If by some miracle, our stuff is able to be recovered, we’ll be storing our data with one of those online services in addition to the hard drive. Seriously though, how crappy is our situation.

I’m a very sad panda.

 

5 Responses to “Devastated”

  1. emily Says:

    Oh, Holly… we had this issue once and I know the devastation you are feeling, but there is hope! We were able to get some of ours recovered. Not all, but at that rate it was better than nothing. We still back up on a hard drive, but I also burn DVDs every single month.

    I’m thinking of you and hoping you get some good news.

  2. Jelena Says:

    I am so sorry, that is really terrible news! I hope you manage to get as much as possible retrieved. Good luck!

  3. Aisling Says:

    That is really horrible. I hope you’ll be able to recover more than you think. Hugs

  4. Abby Says:

    I’m so sorry Holly, that is just terrible. I hope you are able to recover as much as possible. xxx

  5. craftyrachel Says:

    I am so sorry! That happened to us, too. We had not one, but TWO external hard drives but they were in the same location, which got overheated and blew them out at the same time. I know it’s not any consolation, but don’t lose hope until you’ve sent them off to the data recovery company. Sending lots of hugs!


Leave a Reply

