It Feels Like Home

A Boston girl goes Hollywood then chucks it away for a life in OZ… these are my adventures and general musings.

Snowtober October 19, 2009

Filed under: Life — Holly @ 3:20 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Yesterday, we received quite a surprise when Mother Nature decided to snow down on the Boston area… even though it’s only MID-OCTOBER! I personally am not a fan of the cold (I know, why did I ever move back to Boston?) and Husband has never really been in snow before, being the California guy that he is. Husband was only too pleased to run outside and make snowballs to throw at me. He loved it and I probably would have loved it, too, if I wasn’t so damn cold and had on proper winter clothing! Ok, fine, I admit it was rather nice to see snow fall again. After all, it has been many, many years since I’ve seen it. I’m just not sure I wanted to experience it in October. Last time I checked, October = FALL, Snow = WINTER. All things aside, it was actually quite funny and rather sweet to see Husband’s reaction to his first real snowfall. He was like a little kid on Christmas day, all giddy with excitement. We’ll just have to wait and see if he still loves it come January or February when Boston probably has the worst winter on record.

The early snowfall also means Husband and I really have to do some serious winter clothes shopping. We barely have any warm sweaters and we certainly do not have winter jackets, scarves, hats, mittens or boots. We just never needed them after living in California and Sydney for so many years. Needless to say, we’ll be hitting the shops very soon. I also can’t forget to pick up a much needed snow shovel and a car snow brush/ice scraper. I’m sure they will come in handy this winter. What was I thinking moving back to cold and snowy New England?

Photo from here.

 

One Response to “Snowtober”

  1. Jelena Says:

    October IS early but oh, am I hoping for some snow this winter 🙂


Leave a Reply

