It Feels Like Home

A Boston girl goes Hollywood then chucks it away for a life in OZ… these are my adventures and general musings.

Sweet Chili Sauce April 18, 2009

Filed under: Life — Holly @ 10:01 am
Tags: , , , ,

One of my favourite condiments in Australia is Sweet Chili Sauce. It is absolutely fantastic and goes with just about any type of food. I’m guessing the Aussies have to thank the Asian influence for introducing such a delicious sauce. The easiest way to describe it is sort of like a sweet and sour slightly spiced sauce. It can be used for dipping, as a spread, a marinade or whatever you wish. In fact, one of my favorite things is when it’s used for Australian wedges (which are are like giant fries/small potatoe wedges) and comes with sour cream and sweet chili sauce… delish!

photo from here.

Another favorite is as a seasoning on crisps, otherwise known as chips. Red Rock does a brilliant sour cream and sweet chili deli style crisp. Seriously the best thing ever and I’m not really a potato chip kind of girl. You can even see the chili on the chips… again, delish and one of my favourite snacks from Australia. Pick some up if you ever have the chance! I’ll be packing a few of the chips to take back with me.

 

2 Responses to “Sweet Chili Sauce”

  1. Debbie Says:

    How do you make Australian Sweet Chili Sauce. This Texan became a fan while traveling throughout Victoria and New South Wales.

    • Holly Says:

      I don’t know exactly how to make it but I’m sure you can do a Google search and find a recipe. I’ve actually been able to find sweet chili sauce here in the States. It’s usually in the Asian section of the market or in Asian specialty stores. High end grocers tend to carry it, too. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

