It Feels Like Home

A Boston girl goes Hollywood then chucks it away for a life in OZ… these are my adventures and general musings.

Health Check February 11, 2009

Filed under: Life — Holly @ 2:55 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

It’s been around one month since I started on the path to a healthier me and I am happy to say I am definitely feeling better about myself. I have been faithfully going to the gym at least six days a week, working out for around 45 minutes each time. I usually stick with the elliptical machine but some times I change it up and actually run on the treadmill or hit the stair master. There are often times when I feel like I am going to die on the elliptical but once I get pass the wall, I keep going and before you know it, I’ve made the 45 minutes. I have been hitting the weights but really, I’ve only been doing that once a week as I feel cardio is what is most important for me right now.

Not only has the gym routine been going fairly well, but the eating plan is also getting better. I haven’t had any desserts or ice cream (except on Mom’s birthday). I hardly snack and don’t buy any crappy, unhealthy foods. I’ve cut out most alcohol but I have had a few margaritas and wines here and there. We’ve been cooking healthier options for dinner and lunches are often something along the lines of Subway’s six inch Fresh Fit Choices. My water intake has increased and is going well, too.

As a result of my efforts, I’m happy to report I’m down 8 pounds. I realize this is a good start and I’m losing the weight in a reasonable and healthy manner. I feel like I am not depriving myself of anything and therefore, I’m able to stick to a regiment that is isn’t torturous to keep up with. Sure, if I was completely neurotic about everything I consumed, I could probably lose more weight and faster but I know that won’t work for me in the long run. Slow and steady is the game plan for me.

I do have to admit, though, a part of me wanted to have more of a loss. You know, you hear all those Weight Watchers and Jenny Craig commercials of people saying they lost 8 pounds in one week! Yeah, I’d love that but I’m not doing that type of diet not to mention that my body needs some time to kick in with the healthier lifestyle change. I don’t even consider myself on a diet, really. It’s just about being healthier. I guess I wanted more weight loss in the first month because I feel like you can’t really tell I’ve lost the 8 pounds. Fear not, my Mom says she can tell so you know she’s got to be right, ha?! I know it will come with time and more hard work, I just have to patient and keep at it.

For the next month, I’m going to kick it up a notch. I’m planning on adding another day of weights, to do 60 minutes of cardio instead of the 45 and work on eating smaller portions and more fruits and vegs. I’ll check back in again in one month’s time.

 

6 Responses to “Health Check”

  1. Monique Says:

    That is great! Congrats on your weight loss! I bet if you increase the amount of weights you do you’ll definitely lose even more – Good Luck!

  2. emily Says:

    How great! I’m working on the same things, however I haven’t been hitting the gym 6x per week. I should get on that!

  3. mrsukyankee Says:

    Congratulations! That’s awesome as well as inspiring!

  4. Christina Says:

    That is great news! I’ve also been working on the same thing, but I need some of your motivation to get to the gym more!!

    Congrats on the 8, I’m sure there are more to come 🙂

  5. Lori Says:

    Congratulations! Maybe you will motivate me to get going!!

  6. Sandy Says:

    good for you!!! keep up the good work!


Leave a Reply

