It Feels Like Home

A Boston girl goes Hollywood then chucks it away for a life in OZ… these are my adventures and general musings.

Shaping Up January 19, 2009

Filed under: Life — Holly @ 10:27 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s a brand new year and that means it’s time for a new me. As I have touched upon in previous posts, I’ve mentioned that I have packed on the comfort kilos. Well, my number one resolution of the new year is to focus on my health. I need to drop the pounds; start exercising, eating smaller, healthier portions and forgo alcohol- mostly my love for nice wines. Unfortunately, I am the heaviest I have ever been in my life and that is truly sad. It’s time to change and the time is now. I could have done something about it the last half of last year and instead I did nothing. So, I’m over it and ready. I’m finally motivated and committed to making this work.

I have been going to the gym six times a week. My choice of cardio is the elliptical machine for 35 to 40 minutes while using the “hill” or “random” setting. Two to three times a week I also tack on some weights- mostly arms and upper body. I am happy to say I have been working my butt off and at this point I’m determined to keep it up. After all, I can’t let all this hard work go down the drain. So far it’s been very hard but that is a good thing- it means I’m doing well and eventually it will get easier. I am slowly getting in to a mind frame in which working out has to be part of my daily routine, like second nature. To make getting in shape a little easier, I have a partner in crime to help keep me motivated. Husband is also in the market for shedding the pounds so we keep each other going strong.

Besides exercising hard, I have been eating really healthy, not snacking and avoiding alcohol and desserts. This year I am determined to eat more fish and vegetables. I’ve never been one for eating fish and in fact, growing up, I hated all scaly finned beings despite spending summers on Cape Cod fishing with Dad on our boat. Over the past several years, I’ve warmed up to fish and now even enjoy sushi. However, I still have some distaste for certain fish, especially salmon. Despite my issues about it, I have already consumed salmon for dinner three times in the new year- that’s about three more times than I had it last year. I’ve also grown fond of brussel sprouts and have been eating them up multiple times a week.

I do have a figure in mind of what I would like to scale to read but I’m not one for really sticking to numbers. If I end up looking like what I did at my wedding, I would be happy. What is important to me is that I feel healthy and feel good about myself. From time to time, I’ll post some updates about the healthier me in the making. Until then wish me luck and feel free to help keep me motivated.

Photo: http://www.zenhabits.net

 

2 Responses to “Shaping Up”

  1. Very nice work. Good luck to you!

  2. Aisling Says:

    Lots of luck for your new lifestyle!


Leave a Reply

