It Feels Like Home

A Boston girl goes Hollywood then chucks it away for a life in OZ… these are my adventures and general musings.

Reflections January 15, 2009

Filed under: Life — Holly @ 8:47 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s a new year. Time to reflect on what has been and what will hopefully be. Yes, I know I’m a little late in my new year’s reflections but as the saying goes, better late than never.

2008 was a tough year in my mind. There were definitely more downs than ups all around. In reality when I look back at 2008, it wasn’t all bad but for the most part, it was not a good year. Maybe I’m so down on 2008 because it was the end of the good life in Australia and back to the harsh realities at home. When 2008 started, I knew big changes were lurking. In some ways I was excited and somewhat prepared for them but in reality things were much harder than I could have ever imagined.

Don’t get me wrong, I am thankful for having my family, friends, a roof over my head, clothes on my back and a loving, patient husband. He and I were lucky to live three years in Australia, travel around South East Asia, Japan, Fiji, New Zealand and all the other many wonderful cities and countries we’ve visited. We have been very fortunate in our lives together to feel financially secure and succeed professionally. For all this and more, I am very grateful.

However, for most of last year, I felt like life was in limbo and passing me by. I was not living my best life and yes, a lot of it has to do with Dad’s health situation but I can’t blame it entirely on that issue alone. I could have used my time to better myself physically, professionally and intellectually. Instead of getting my butt to the gym, I chose to remain inactive and let the pounds add on. Instead of taking up new hobbies and developing new skills, I fell in to a rut of being okay with the status quo. I admit it, I became the “Queen of excuses” and life was relatively miserable. There were good times here and there but really, I don’t think of 2008 with fond memories.

So, the time has come for out with the old and in with the new. I’m ready to make 2009 a good year. I’m not one for making resolutions but desperate times call for desperate measures. I have goals, plans, hopes and dreams. Since I’m a list person, I have started to write down all that I wish to achieve in 2009. I will continue to add to this list in pursuit of being the best I can be and re-evaluate from time to time. At this point, things can only get better so I’m hopefully 2009 will be much kinder. For me, I am going to try to focus on getting things done each day. I feel good about my goals, I am committed to myself and I am ready to start leading my best life, again.

 

2 Responses to “Reflections”

  1. Jelena Says:

    Good luck with your plans and resolutions and I am sure 2009 will go much better for you!

  2. Aisling Says:

    I had a bad mid 2007 and 2008 and did the same. I got complacent and instead of changing the parts of my life I was unhappy with I just moaned and waited and I needed it. I needed a break from striving forward. Maybe you needed it too? Don’t be too hard on yourself. I hope 2009 is the year you find the energy to do the things you love 🙂


Leave a Reply

