It Feels Like Home

A Boston girl goes Hollywood then chucks it away for a life in OZ… these are my adventures and general musings.

A Year in Review January 6, 2009

Filed under: Life — Holly @ 3:44 pm
Tags: , ,

I’ve been meaning to do a New Year’s post but it’s been busy lately and I just haven’t had the time to sit down and write it up. Instead, I got this fun, little year in review questionaire from my friend, Casey. So, until I can get to my New Year’s post, this should entertain you for a bit…

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before? Back packed around South East Asia for a month. Ate a Grasshopper.  Rode an Elephant. Went bamboo rafting. Talked with a group of Monks. Drove a motorbike around rice paddies. Flipped our kayak in rapids. Went to the Blues Fest in Byron Bay. Became a SAHW and caregiver. Finally and sadly, I became the heaviest I’ve ever been in my life. 

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year? I didn’t make any last year but I will this year.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? No.

4. Did anyone close to you die? No.

5. What countries did you visit? Australia, Thailand, Laos, Vietnam, Cambodia and Japan.

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008? A slim and healthy body. Return to Australia (for good 😉 ).

7. What dates from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? Feb 9th- Day on the Green music festival in the Hunter Valley. March 5th- turned 30. March 15th- Jack Johnson concert in the Park. March 31st- Left Australia. Month of April- traveled around SEA. Early May returned to the US. May 25th- Best friend, Sandy, gets married in Boston. October 28th- Second wedding anniversary. October 29th- Paul’s 30th.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year? Taking time to travel SEA.

9. What was your biggest failure? Not taking the time to get in to shape.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury? Other than packing on the comfort kilos, no.

11. What was the best thing you bought? Cell phone and a Wii.

12. Where did most of your money go? Travel, bills and setting up our life in the US.

13. What did you get really, really, really excited about? Traveling around SEA and being with family again.

14. What song will always remind you of 2008? Anything by John Butler Trio and Will Conner’s Southern Hemisphere.

15. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder? Definitely Sadder.
b) thinner or fatter? Definitely Fatter.
c) richer or poorer? Definitely Poorer.  (three strikes and I’m out!)

16. What do you wish you’d done more of? Working out and making better use of my time. (Maybe learned a new skill, hobby, a language or enrolled in a master’s program.) 

17. What do you wish you’d done less of? Spending time on the computer, and being stressed out and worried all the time.

18. How did you spend Christmas? Christmas Eve at my parent’s house. Christmas Day at Paul’s parents house.

19. Did you fall in love in 2008? I’m already lucky in love.

20. What was your favorite TV program? Alton Brown’s Good Eats, Chaser’s War on Everything, House, How I Met Your Mother and Two and a Half Men.

21. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year? I don’t hate anyone.

22. What was the best book you read? The Kite Runner.

23. What did you want and get? Our trip to South East Asia.

24. What did you want and not get? A healthy and improved Dad.

25. What was your favorite film of this year? This year was kind of crappy for movies… I guess, The Dark Knight.

26. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? I turned 30 and was still in Sydney. I made it in to a long weekend extravaganza starting with dinner celebration at a the best Mexican restaurant in Sydney, Cafe Pacifico. The next night we pulled up a rug, a hamper and some champers for the Starlight Cinema in the Oval. Friday, we left for a weekend getaway to the Central Coast and dinner at my favorite restaurant, The Letterbox.

27. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? If Dad’s health was better, parent’s situation stable and settled and we stayed in Sydney and kept our same lifestyle.

28. What kept you sane? My husband.

29. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? Barack Obama- he’s the MAN!

30. What political issue stirred you the most? The passing of California’s Prop 8.

31. Who did you miss? Sister.

32. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008. It is what it is.

33. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

“Lucky” by Jason Mraz
(feat. Colbie Caillat)

Do you hear me,
I’m talking to you
Across the water across the deep blue ocean
Under the open sky, oh my, baby I’m trying
Boy I hear you in my dreams
I feel your whisper across the sea
I keep you with me in my heart
You make it easier when life gets hard

I’m lucky I’m in love with my best friend
Lucky to have been where I have been
Lucky to be coming home again
Ooohh ooooh oooh oooh ooh ooh ooh ooh

They don’t know how long it takes
Waiting for a love like this
Every time we say goodbye
I wish we had one more kiss
I’ll wait for you I promise you, I will

I’m lucky I’m in love with my best friend
Lucky to have been where I have been
Lucky to be coming home again
Lucky we’re in love every way
Lucky to have stayed where we have stayed
Lucky to be coming home someday

And so I’m sailing through the sea
To an island where we’ll meet
You’ll hear the music fill the air
I’ll put a flower in your hair
Though the breezes through trees
Move so pretty you’re all I see
As the world keeps spinning round
You hold me right here right now

I’m lucky I’m in love with my best friend
Lucky to have been where I have been
Lucky to be coming home again
I’m lucky we’re in love every way
Lucky to have stayed where we have stayed
Lucky to be coming home someday.

Ooohh ooooh oooh oooh ooh ooh ooh ooh.

 

2 Responses to “A Year in Review”

  1. aislingc Says:

    I’m so sorry to hear the rough year you’ve had. You have my admiration. I’m also on a health buzz trying to shed a few and get healthier and stronger. I have a feeling 2009 will be a good year for that!

  2. Holly Says:

    Cheers to that- GL on working towards a healthier you!


Leave a Reply

