It Feels Like Home

A Boston girl goes Hollywood then chucks it away for a life in OZ… these are my adventures and general musings.

Gobble, Gobble November 27, 2008

Filed under: Life — Holly @ 11:15 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

Sister arrived safe and sound last night from NYC. After a very late night, we awoke early and the hustle and bustle of Thanksgiving Day has begun. We are watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade as we buzz around the kitchen and our fantasy football teams are all in order as we gear up for a long day of football watching.

Over night, we did a brine for the Turkey, courtesy of Alton Brown, and plan on following the recipe for roasting. I only hope it ends up looking very similar to the picture on the left. We of course have all the fixings- two kids of sweet potatoes (mashed with marshmallows, and sliced with pecans & apples), two kinds of stuffing (traditional, and chestnut & sausage), mashed potatoes, green beans, peas, gravy with pearl onions, rolls, cranberry relish, a modified ambrosia and heaps of wine. I should also mention, we LOVE Thanksgiving day leftovers- delish! There should be plenty to go around for a few days.

On my other blog I mentioned some things I am thankful for so I will continue here with just a few items, in no particular order. I am thankful for:

My life,

Family, including Hubby (has to be stated twice),

Friends- old and new,

Hubby’s job,

Life’s essentials- food, shelter and clothing,

Amazing life opportunities,

Change,

The future,

Dreams,

Memories,

Health insurance,

More money than bills,

Our service men and women,

Modern medicine,

The Earth,

Protestors marching,

Causes,

Volunteers,

and

The internet and all its wisdom.

I could go on and on but really I am just thankful to be alive and with loved ones. Happy Thanksgiving to all.

 

4 Responses to “Gobble, Gobble”

  1. Abby Says:

    Your meal sounds delicious! Enjoy and Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Jessica Says:

    Happy belated Thanksgiving!

  3. Allison Says:

    Hi Holly! It looks like you had a lovely Thanksgiving. I’m so happy that you were able to spend it with loved ones.

  4. Helene Moore Says:

    I, too, am grateful for all the things you mentioned, and more.
    I’m thankful that I have the opportunity to pant the seed for my Adopt A Caregiver program.
    I am grateful to all those who comment.
    I tried to email you, but I obviously had the wrong address.
    Keep love and kisses in your life. Helene
    http://www.helenemoore.com
    read my blog


Leave a Reply

