It Feels Like Home

A Boston girl goes Hollywood then chucks it away for a life in OZ… these are my adventures and general musings.

I’m a Turkey Trotter November 18, 2008

Filed under: Life — Holly @ 8:00 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Those who personally know me, know I am not a fan of running. I have never liked it. If anyone asks me to go for a run, I will usually come up with every excuse in the book not to run. I’ll gladly head to the gym with you to take a fitness class or exercise on a cross trainer, the stair master, or my favorite machine, an elliptical, but running, I cannot do.

Growing up, Sister and I played just about every sport- basketball, soccer, field hockey, softball, karate, swimming, dance and so forth. We were busy kids. Eventually, I tended to like the sports that didn’t require all out sprints for an hour while Sister loved anything to do with running. As we got older we couldn’t do it all and so I picked dance and swimming. Sister picked dance, field hockey and track and field. What can I say… Sister was born an athlete and track star. She was so good she even won a track scholarship to college, running Division one. So, not only was Sister given the running/athletic genes but she also got the skinny genes. Me, well, I was overlooked in both of those departments.

Now that I am 30, I find myself in the worst shape of my life and it’s time to change it. I know my recent demise is because of stress, indulging in too much “welcome back to America” food and alcohol, and not going to the gym. At last, I’m tired of it and it’s time again to work on myself. I’ve decided I need to kick-start my arse in to high gear so I’ve signed up to do a 5K turkey trot on Thanksgiving day. This will be my first race, ever. Now, a 5K might not seem difficult to many, but to me it seems like an impossible feat. The race is just around the corner so I’m not expecting miracles. My only goal is to cross the finish line. I know I will not be able to run the entire thing and I am okay with that… remember, I am not in shape. I am training for it, albeit a little late. I’ve been running/walking twice a day, 1.5 miles each time. I switch between a run/walk because there is just no way I can run one mile straight never mind three. So, I will do my best and see how it goes. Best of all, I have my husband and sister joining me for the big event so it’s a win-win.

I’m already looking ahead and see there is another 5K in the middle of December for the Desert Nature Conservancy so maybe by then I’ll be in much better shape to actually run three miles.

Wish me luck!

In other news, Sister has booked her airline ticket for Thanksgiving! She’ll be here in just one week- yippee! I can’t tell you how happy this makes me. 🙂

 

5 Responses to “I’m a Turkey Trotter”

  1. Lori Says:

    You sound just like me! Good luck with the 5k and enjoy Thanksgiving!

  2. Libby Tune Says:

    That is wonderful!!! I need to kick-start my workout plan too! Good luck in the Turkey Trot!

  3. Lane Says:

    Good luck! I thought about doing it, too, but I’m booked that weekend. Boo! Have fun!

  4. Casey Says:

    Good for you Holly. I think that’s great. I hope you have fun and have a great time with your sister and Paul.

  5. Holly Says:

    Thanks everyone and Happy Thanksgiving!


Leave a Reply

