It Feels Like Home

A Boston girl goes Hollywood then chucks it away for a life in OZ… these are my adventures and general musings.

Back in 1999 October 4, 2008

Today marks nine years since Paul and I had our very first date. Although we are married now and have a wedding anniversary, I still like to think of October 4th as our anniversary, too. Afterall, it was the day that kick started it all for us.

The build up to our first date started early our senior year at uni. It began with his casual, non-chalant visits to my door because he “happened to be walking by.” Then he woo’d me with his sweet and personal emails, letters, and CD compilations of music he thought I’d like, complete with his own artistic CD labels and cases. For not really knowing me that well, he did a good job in the music selection department. His kind gestures were cute and got my attention. Soon something clicked for the both of us and we each decided we could be good for each other… why not give it a go.

Paul asked me out and I said yes. Off to the Cheesecake Factory in Beverly Hills we went. Over a Chinese chicken salad for myself and the Thai peanut noodles for Paul, we talked, laughed and tried to hide our nerves. He was the perfect gentleman picking me up with flowers in hand, opening all the doors and of course, he paid the bill. He was sweet, we had a great time and as the saying goes, the rest is history. Whenever I think about that day in 1999, I still get all warm and fuzzy inside. I guess we’ve still got it after all those years.

By the way, doesn’t 1999 seem so long ago? Like a whole other century! God, we’re getting old.

 

3 Responses to “Back in 1999”

  1. emily Says:

    I love it! It is 5 years exactly from my first kiss with Stefan. Isn’t it great to celebrate those mini anniversaries? October 4th must be one special day.

  2. C- Says:

    October 4th is our anniversary too! To many more wonderful years.

  3. Holly Says:

    Looks like October 4th is in deed a good day! Happy Anniversary, ladies.


Leave a Reply

