It Feels Like Home

A Boston girl goes Hollywood then chucks it away for a life in OZ… these are my adventures and general musings.

Bad News August 5, 2008

Unfortunately, Dad is back in the hospital. After some panic and a lot of stressful, sleepless hours in the hospital for the past few days, we’ve discovered Dad has a pulmonary embolism, which is a blood clot, in his right lung. Apparently, the blood clot is pressing on his nerve which is causing him extreme pain; however, if it wasn’t for the pain, we would have never known Dad had a blood clot until it was too late. I consider it a blessing in disguise.

Luckily we caught the blood clot early enough and the doctors are able to treat it for the next six months. There will have to be more meds, blood thinners, injections at home, a new diet that limits vitamin K, careful monitoring of his blood every other day with blood tests, and careful monitoring of his daily activites to prevent injury. 

I’ve written more about the unfortunate events on my other blog, Lewy Body Dementia, so I’ll keep this entry short.

I just wish Dad could catch a break. He such a good guy with so much life in him but lately, it just seems like it’s one thing after another for Dad between the brain tumor, the Lewy Body Disease and now this.

 

5 Responses to “Bad News”

  1. Lori Says:

    Holly, I’m so sorry to hear this. You’re being so strong through everything! I want you to know that you and your family are still in my thoughts.

  2. Holly Says:

    Thanks for your kind thoughts, Lori. I appreciate it. Hope you’re well.

  3. Janine aka Blushingrose Says:

    So sorry to read this, I hope that your Dad gets better. I will keep you and your family in my prayers.

  4. Jelena Says:

    Holly, I am really sorry to hear this about your Dad. I hope he gets better soon. I wish you and your family lots of strength!

  5. Holly Says:

    Thanks, Janine and Jelena. It means a lot.


Leave a Reply

