It Feels Like Home

A Boston girl goes Hollywood then chucks it away for a life in OZ… these are my adventures and general musings.

I Feel the Earth Move Under My Feet July 29, 2008

Filed under: Life — Holly @ 12:18 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

We just had a 5.4 earthquake! This was by far the strongest quake I have ever felt. AAHHH, the big one is coming! Run for the hills… or rather, another state.

At first, I had a delayed reaction like I wasn’t quite sure what was happening. Afterall, I’ve been out of earthquake country for quite a few year now. It felt like someone was pushing in the back of my seat over and over again, and I was about to turn around and yell at what I thought was Puppy acting up (sorry, Puppy!); however, when the swaying feeling didn’t stop, Mom, Sister and I all looked at each other and yelled, “EARTHQUAKE!” We all jumped up and ran. Dad was in the bathroom (I know, funny yet unfortunate) and Paul was in his office. I guess Mom, Sister and I were running to get them which I’m not sure is such a good idea in the event of “the big one.” Luckily, it wasn’t. By the time we ran to the other room, the shaking was subsiding- thank god!

Now come the aftershocks- ah, fun times ahead! The experts have been saying California is well overdue for the big one so I’m sure everyone will be running to the stores now to stock up on earthquake survival supplies. Wish us luck.

 

5 Responses to “I Feel the Earth Move Under My Feet”

  1. Yaba Says:

    “Obama caused LA Earthquake”
    — latest PR from McSame campaign

  2. Lane Says:

    Hmmm…the big one? Uh-oh. What kind of kit should I be packing?

  3. Holly Says:

    Well, if you want to travel light, you could always put one together when you get here- and, don’t forget about one for Falcor!

    I’ll let you know once I put together one of my own 😉

  4. Christina Says:

    I heard about this, quite scary. Shocking it hit from Vegas to SD! My dad said he was surprised, but nothing broke.

    Hope you guys stay safe.

    Only because this is part of my daily life, here’s a great link for prepardness (having a disaster kit can make a huge difference!)

    http://www.fema.gov/hazard/earthquake/eq_before.shtm

  5. Holly Says:

    Thanks for the link, Christina! Glad your Dad is okay. It definitely was nerve wracking.


Leave a Reply

