It Feels Like Home

A Boston girl goes Hollywood then chucks it away for a life in OZ… these are my adventures and general musings.

The End of a Secret Love Affair September 18, 2008

It’s the end of the road… no, not between Paul and I (haters!). It’s over something completely ridiculous to some but extremely necessary for my daily living. I’m talking about my love for Secret Platinum Soft Solid™. I have been using this little gem of a deoderant since it was released into the market. I love it and I can’t live without it. In fact, I am such a deoderant freak, I had this deoderant shipped to me in Australia because it was not sold there. No other deoderants could ever compare to my Secret Platinum Soft Solid.

So I admit it. I am a total deodorant freak. There, I said it. I put this stuff on numerous times a day… sometimes all within 5 minutes of the last application. I get out of the shower, slap some on. Brush my teeth and comb my hair, slap on some more. Get dressed, slap it on again. Do my hair, slap on some more. Get ready to leave the house… well, you get the point. I’m a bit obsessed. I love my deodorant and it’s not because I have an odor problem either. It’s more of an addiction of sorts. I know, I’m weird but what can I say, I love the junk. I’m not quite sure when my deodorant addiction began? Maybe it’s because when I was much, much younger Mom would buy us Arrid Extra Dry™ deodorant to use and I hated it. I despised the smell, the solid, everything about it. From there, I learned to become an aficionado, of sorts, of deodorant. I know, it’s weird. The hubby thinks I’m crazy. But look, it is what it is… it’s not ever going to change.

I hate gels… icky and gooey. I hate roll-ons… too wet and doesn’t go on smoothly. I hate invisible… weird strange smell and it doesn’t last very long. I hate solids… it’s messy and I always get it all over my clothes. I hate aerosols… stings when applying and hate inhaling the chemical cloud. I hate clear gels/solids, etc… just doesn’t work and it stinks, literally. But low and behold, a little miracle in the odor and sweat oppressors came along… Secret Platinum Soft Solid. If you haven’t tried this innovator in underarm science, you’re seriously missing out. It’s so light, silky and smooth and works like a charm every time. This is the end all and be all in the deodorant world and the only type of deodorant I will ever use… or so I thought.

I still have a little stash of Secret Platinum Soft Solid left over from Australia, however, I’m quickly running out. I ventured to the grocery store to pick up some more soft solid but they didn’t have any. Weird? Strange? Yes, but I thought instead maybe it’s sold at places like Target or various drugstores. I don’t know, I’ve been out of the country for three years and have always had someone else buy it for me… what do I know? I hopped in my car and I drove to check out Target but the shelves were empty of the little wonder. I went on to the drugstore… strike three, I’m out! No luck. I was starting to panic. What could be happening? Why, oh why, is my most favorite deodorant no where to be found?

Well, I soon found out from a stock boy that they’re DISCONTINUING Secret Platinum Soft Solid. You can imagine my shock and the horror. I nearly fainted right then and there. I don’t know what I’m going to do or how I’ll ever get over my love. I’m lost. I think a letter is in order for Procter and Gamble. Supposedly it’s being discontinued to make way for their new Secret Flawless™. It’s suppose to be some kind of revolutioinary smooth powder.

So now I must ration my Secret Platinum Soft Solid… and you can imagine how hard that is for me. God help me when the day comes that my Secret Platinum can no longer click up any more soft solid. The hubby is already preparing for the fall out.

Photo Credit: Secret®, Copyright: Secret®


***UPDATE: Please read my follow up post which you can find HERE.

 

21 Responses to “The End of a Secret Love Affair”

  1. emily Says:

    I’m glad I’m not the only one that has deodorant shipped internationally. That is awful! I really hope P&G writes you back, although I really fear they are just going to send you a coupon for the Flawless, which is adding insult to injury.

  2. grl62u Says:

    Thank you for ending this crazy search i have been on for the past month. i have purchased other Secret products, even aerosol, which DO NOT WORK. I am so self conscious about my hygiene with out this product. I guess I will have to try numerous others.

  3. Holly Says:

    So glad I could help out, grl62u! Good luck in your search.

    Emily, that’s funny you had your deoderant shipped, too. When you’ve got a good thing, it’s hard to let it go!

  4. Jane Says:

    Thank you for letting me know, I have been looking everywhere, OH NO, What am I going to do, I love this stuff and I am on my last one!!!

  5. Bonita Says:

    This just can’t be happening!!! I have (apparently) very sensitive underarms. I can only use this type of deodorant/antipersperant. I have a bad reaction to even other forms of Secret. I have been all over the city and internet today, trying to find more… but no luck.

  6. Jan Says:

    I’m in the same boat. I’m currently trying something else, but it’s not the same. The soft solid is the only type I like and now I can’t find it anywhere. If any of you find anything comparable, PLEASE let me know. My latest purchase, which seems to be somewhat close, but not close enough, is the Secret Flawless Touch (Olay) which is a Conditioning Solid. It’s not the Platinum, but seems to be “protecting/working” well so far. I’ve only used it the past few days. It’s not the same though. Who would have ever thought deodorant would have such an effect on someone. :) Glad I’m not alone.

  7. Mimi Says:

    I just came back from three stores looking for my favorite secret platinum soft solids…and they were truly nowhere to be found…I can’t believe they have actually discontinued them-thanks for the heads up. If I would have known, I would been more attentive to that last soft solid click….lol. So my question is, even if they are replacing it with flawless now…why not still offer it in soft solid. I agree, soft solid was just the best application consistency…Oh the sadness…why did they have to go mess with a good thing.

    P.S. I went ahead and picked up the “new” secret platinum clear gel…I’ll let ya know how it goes, since we are all on the same page on what we like in deoderants…i.e. the soft solid.

  8. Mimi Says:

    Alright, so not a fan of clear gel at all…and it’s only been one day. BUT! I found out that secret flawless IS essentially secret platinum, just re-named…and better yet “conditioning solid” IS the soft solid!! yaaay! Problem solved!

  9. Mary Says:

    I can’t believe they discontinued it! That’s the only stuff that works! What were they thinking?! Well I’m glad I’m not alone in this!

  10. Karen Says:

    I cannot believe that they discontinued this product! It is the ONLY thing that works for me. I have tried the “Platinum Flawless” … I hate it. I don’t feel dry. And my underarms are back to itching again! When I finally found a product that actually worked (Platinum Soft Solid) I was thrilled. Google Secret Platinum Soft Solid … there are a couple of places that actually sell it, but a little more expensive. But I’m sure once they’re gone … they’re gone. :(

  11. Holly Says:

    I’ve tried the Platinum Flawless Condition Solid and find that it does not work for me. I often feel wet and unprotected throughout the day. I’ve written a letter to P&G and am awaiting their response. I can only hope they bring back Platinum Soft Solid.

  12. Martha Says:

    I am in a worse place than most of you guys…I will only use the unsented version of this wonderful product! UGH!!! Does anyone have any advise as to where I can find something like it? Has anyone tried the clinical strength? I was soooo upset to find out they dsicontinued this product. I live in Texas where it is sweaty summer about 10 months a year!! Thank you for helping me feel better.

  13. Alicia Says:

    So I notice it has been a little while since anyone replyed to this blog. I am 5 months preganant and have been using Platinum since it first came out. I have always had a problem excess of sweating, but found Platinum worked best. Now that i am preganant, the sweating is even worse and I went to the doc to try a prescription antiperspernt but it certainly didn’t work as well as Platinum. Has anyone found anything as good???? Please help me, we are heading into really warm climates here in NS Canada and I will be at my most preganant in the summer. Please if anyone found anything even comparable please let me know. THANKS :) (tryed the Flawless didn’t find it any better than any other deos)

  14. jeannette Says:

    I am awestruck by what I have in common with you guys. I have 3 Secret deodorants on my dresser right now, including FLAWLESS. It is NOT the same. Secret Platinum Soft Solid is the only one that works for me too. I have been searching as well in many, many drug stores, discount stores, target and anywhere that sells deodorants. This evening, I was not pleased with my fragrance. I finally decided to google the product to see if I could find it online, and I stumbled upon your blog. I am just as worried as Alicia, summer has not even arrived yet in NY and I need to find something quick. We need to get Secret to bring the Platinum soft solid back!

  15. kscherl Says:

    I just googled to try and find Secret Platinum, and stumbled across this blog! I’ve also been a long time user of the Secret Platinum brand, and the last few months I’ve tried other Secret deodorants and other brands – Nothing works like Platinum….What should we do!

  16. kscherl Says:

    Here is a link to the P&G Consumer Support sight. This is the company that makes our beloved Secret Platinum deodorant!! I encourage you to do as I did and email them to ask/beg/demand our platinum brand back!!

    http://pg.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/pg.cfg/php/enduser/ask.php?p_sid=NGXeIfwj&p_accessibility=0&p_redirect=&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5PSZwX2dyaWRzb3J0PSZwX3Jvd19jbnQ9NjgsNjgmcF9wcm9kcz0yOSZwX2NhdHM9MCZwX3B2PTEuMjkmcF9jdj0mcF9wYWdlPTE*&p_prods=29&p_pv=1.29

    • Holly Says:

      Hi everyone. I’m glad I’m not the only one out there who prefers Platinum soft solid!

      Please write to P&G about getting Platinum soft solid back on the market. I’ve written an update post which you can read here.

      You can find the link to email P&G in my post above or within the update post (link also above). You can also email them by clicking here.

  17. TT Says:

    Secret Flawless is nothing like Secret Platinum. Speaking as an Alabama gal, we do not “glow” down here we sweat. It is hot in the summer. Secret Platinum is the only deodorant that I could wear on a 98° Alabama summer day & sniff my pit at the end of the day & not stink. Secret Flawless is lame like every other deodorant on the market & does not keep that little stink away.

    Why oh why won’t they bring Secret back. wahhhhh!! I wrote them & they thanked me for liking it but they do not care waaaaah!!!

  18. Chrissy Says:

    Did anyone ever find a good alternative? I had been using the flawless with olay, which definitely did not work as well, but now that seems to have been discontinued too. Thanks for your help!

  19. Emily C. Says:

    I just NOW *officially* realized the deodorant is gone…. off the shelves… discontinued. I had been wondering why a few months ago I had trouble finding it, and now I see that it’s official. I am confused… was this posing health risks?! Because I used this deodorant for years, and I am actually having a bunch of health issues! Could these be from the deodorant?

    I am also still upset that the deodorant has been discontinued… and I want to know why. If anyone knows or shares this frustration, please email me.

    Thanks!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.